Miners’ Zach Willms named SIJHL’s top goaltender for 2019-20

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Monday that Zach Willms of the Red Lake Miners has been named its Top Goaltender Award recipient for the 2019-20 season.

Willms earned the laurels, in voting conducted by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs, over fellow nominees Hunter Adams of the Wisconsin Lumberjacks and the Dryden GM Ice Dogs’ Jacob Anthony.

The 20-year-old from Camrose, Alta., had a strong campaign for Red Lake as he led all SIJHL netminders in wins, goals-against average and save percentage at 27, 2.80 and .925 respectively while his three shutouts tied him for second-most in league play.

He also set a SIJHL record for total career victories with 52 surpassing the 51 that both current Buffalo Sabres goalkeeper Carter Hutton (North Stars/Golden Hawks) and Josh Mrakic (Bearcats/Golden Hawks) had in their time in the league.

This marks the first time in Miners history that someone from their franchise has earned these accolades.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time top goaltender winners:

2019-20: Zach Willms, Red Lake Miners
2018-19: Brock Aiken, Thunder Bay North Stars
2017-18: Brandon Bodnar, Thunder Bay North Stars
2016-17: Patrick Zubick, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Riley Corbin, Thunder Bay North Stars
2014-15: Nathan Park, Fort Frances Lakers
2013-14: Eric Mann, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Gordy Defiel, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Tanner Milliron, Wisconsin Wilderness
2010-11: John McLean, Wisconsin Wilderness
2009-10: Jameson Shortreed, Fort Frances Lakers
2008-09: Ryan Faragher, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2007-08: Drew Strandberg, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2006-07: Kyle Cantlon, Marathon Renegades
2005-06: Carter Hutton, Fort William North Stars
2004-05: Viktor Saari, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Daniel Beardy, Fort William North Stars
2002-03: Dan Hoehne, Borderland Thunder
2001-02: Rob Hrabec, Borderland Thunder

Photo credit: Leith Dunick, tbnewswatch.com