SIJHL among those recognized with HNO Awards

THUNDER BAY, Ont. — Hockey Northwestern Ontario announced their season-ending award winners Sunday as part of thehir Annual General Meeting held in Thunder Bay over the weekend, which included a number of individuals associated with the Superior International Junior Hockey League.

Veteran SIJHL referee Andrew Bartlett was named the recipient of HNO’s Most Deserving Official Award.

The Kenora product officiated throughout the 2017-18 campaign in the SIJHL, which included working the Bill Salonen Cup finals as well as the Dudley-Hewitt Cup held in Dryden.

Meanwhile English River Miners trainer and equipment manager Bryan Coulson was recognized by being winner of the Dr. Tom Pashby Provincial Trainer of the Year Award

You also had Thunder Bay North Stars’ defenceman Joe Newhouse earning the Jim Stirling Memorial Bursary.

Newhouse was earlier named the SIJHL’s RBC Scholastic Player of the Year.

Also recognized were the Dryden GM Ice Dogs for being HNO Jr. A champions after they captured the Bill Salonen Cup.