Red Lake’s Ryan Howe selected SIJHL Rookie of the Year

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that Ryan Howe of the Red Lake Miners has been named its Rookie of the Year for the 2019-20 season, in voting completed by each of its member clubs.

Young earned league the laurels over fellow nominees, Nikolas Campbell of the Thunder Bay North Stars and Amraj Gill of the Dryden GM Ice Dogs.

A solid initial campaign in the SIJHL saw Howe play at over a point-per-game pace with Red Lake as he accumulated 58 in 55 outings on 20 tallies and 38 assists.

The Caledon, Ont., product, who turned 19 in late January, saw his numbers pace all league rookies and had him finish fifth overall, among all SIJHL skaters, in offensive production.

This marks the second consecutive year a member of the Miners organization has won this award as Howe joins Bryce Young, who accomplished the feat in 2018-19, as a recipient.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time Rookie of the Year award recipients:

2019-20: Ryan Howe, Red Lake Miners
2018-19: Bryce Young, Red Lake Miners
2017-18: Keighan Gerrie, Thunder Bay North Stars
2016-17: Eric Stout, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Cole Tymkin, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Bradley Belisle, Thunder Bay North Stars
2013-14: Lucas DeBenedet, Fort Frances Lakers
2012-13: Jake Larson, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Jordan Larson, Fort Frances Lakers
2010-11: Austin Adduono, Wisconsin Wilderness
2009-10: Jameson Shortreed, Fort Frances Lakers
2008-09: Jay Pelletier, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Mitch Cain, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Kale Kerbashian, Fort William North Stars
2005-06: Dustin Fummerton, Fort William North Stars
2004-05: Andrew Fernandez, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Cody Mosbeck, Dryden Ice Dogs
2002-03: Jamie Silverson, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Kevin Webb, Borderland Thunder

Photo credit: Patrick Boucha