Red Lake’s Derek Sweet-Coulter tabbed SIJHL Coach of the Year

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Derek Sweet-Coulter of the Red Lake Miners has been named the SIJHL’s Coach of the Year for the 2018-19 season.

Sweet-Coulter picks up the honours over fellow award finalists Wilson Housley of the Thief River Falls Norskies and Rob DeGagne of the Thunder Bay North Stars in voting completed by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

As both head coach and general manager, Sweet-Coulter led the Miners to a franchise-record 38 victories during the campaign while finishing with an overall 38-15-3-0 record.

The 79 points Red Lake collected on the season was also a single-season best for the organization.

With the recognition, Sweet-Coulter will serve as the SIJHL’s nominee for Canadian Junior Hockey League’s Coach of the Year honours.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time coach of the year award recipients:

2018-19: Derek Sweet-Coulter, Red Lake Miners
2017-18: Rob DeGagne, Thunder Bay North Stars
2016-17: Kurt Walsten, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Wayne Strachan, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Jeremy Adduono, Thunder Bay North Stars
2013-14: Wayne Strachan, Fort Frances Lakers
2012-13: Chris Walby, Minnesota Iron Rangers (Co-recipient)
2012-13: Rod Aldoff, Minnesota Wilderness (Co-recipient)
2011-12: Rod Aldoff, Wisconsin Wilderness
2010-11: Wayne Strachan, Fort Frances Lakers
2009-10: Clint Mylymok, Dryden Ice Dogs
2008-09: Todd Howarth, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Wayne Strachan, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Randy Lulashnyk, Dryden Ice Dogs (Co-recipient)
2006-07: Todd Howarth, Fort William North Stars (Co-recipient)
2005-06: Bobby Spadoni, Schreiber Diesels
2004-05: Todd Howarth, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Todd Howarth, Fort William North Stars
2002-03: David Vescio, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Wayne Strachan, Borderland Thunder

Photo credit: Leith Dunick,