Red Lake Miners Bryce Young named 2018-19 SIJHL MVP

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that Red Lake Miners forward Bryce Young has been named the SIJHL’s Mallon’s Corporate Impressions/Play It Again Sports Most Valuable Player for the 2018-19 season.

Young, who becomes the first Miners’ player to garner the laurels, earned the accolades over fellow MVP finalists Keighan Gerrie of the Thunder Bay North Stars and Eric Stout of the Dryden GM Ice Dogs in voting completed by each of the league’s member clubs.

The 19-year-old The Pas, Man., product, had a tremendous campaign in the SIJHL, while also leading his club in offensive production.

His 60 goals during the regular season were the second-most markers in a single campaign by any skater in league history and he also went on to add 41 assists for 101 total points.

Young also topped all SIJHL skaters in both power play and shorthanded tallies with 15 and seven respectively while chipping in with five game-winning markers.

Among his other notable accomplishments in 2018-19 were registering a point on over 36% of his team’s tallies during the year, topping the league in shorthanded points with nine and named to compete in the SIJHL All-Star Game where he dished out a pair of assists.

He was earlier named the SIJHL Rookie of the Year as well for his contributions on the ice with Red Lake.

With the MVP honour, Young becomes the SIJHL’s nominee for the Canadian Junior Hockey League Player of the Year Award that will be announced at the Canadian National Jr. A Championship this May in Brooks, Alta.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time Most Valuable Player recipients:

2018-19: Bryce Young, Red Lake Miners
2017-18: Jacen Bracko, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2016-17: Braeden Allkins, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Dylan Robertson, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Cole Golka, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2013-14: Daniel Del Paggio, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Mike Dietrich, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Byron Katapaytuk, Fort Frances Lakers
2010-11: Jon Mitchell, Dryden Ice Dogs
2009-10: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2008-09: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Quinn Amiel, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Justin Gvora, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2005-06: Chris Bryson, Schreiber Diesels
2004-05: Nathan Breukelman, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Kevin Webb, Borderland Thunder
2002-03: Trevor Karasiewicz, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Charly Washipabano, Feathermen Hawks

Photo credit: Leith Dunick,