Norskies’ Boe Bjorge named SIJHL’s Most Improved Player for 2018-19

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Thief River Falls Norskies forward Boe Bjorge has been named its Most Improved Player award honouree for the 2018-19 season.

Bjorge earned the accolades over fellow finalists Stratton Pickett of the Red Lake Miners and Joel Willan of the Thunder Bay North Stars, in balloting completed by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

In 56 outings during the course of the 2018-19 regular season, the 20-year-old Grand Forks, N.D., product racked up 81 points on 29 goals and 52 assists to lead the Norskies in scoring and also finish sixth overall among all league skaters.

This marked an impressive 66-point improvement for Bjorge from the 2017-18 campaign with Thief River Falls.

Among his efforts was a 19-game point streak that ran from October 31 through to January 9 while also producing a SIJHL season-best 16-game point run in road match-ups for his club.

In 90 career SIJHL contests, Bjorge produced at over a point-per-game clip with 96 on 38 tallies and 58 helpers.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time most improved player award recipients:

2018-19: Boe Bjorge, Thief River Falls Norskies
2017-18: Mark Sanchez, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2016-17: Braedyn Aubin, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Kenny Turner, Thunder Bay North Stars
2014-15: Miles Nolan, Fort Frances Lakers
2013-14: Mason Meyer, Fort Frances Lakers
2012-13: Colton Spicer, Fort Frances Lakers
2011-12: Matt Morsette, Duluth Clydesdales
2010-11: Sam Dubinsky, Thunder Bay North Stars
2009-10: Matt Hunter, K&A Wolverines
2008-09: Kevin Burton, Dryden Ice Dogs
2007-08: Jared Saunders, Schreiber Diesels
2006-07: Dominic Jean, Schreiber Diesels
2005-06: Jordan Chong, Dryden Ice Dogs
2004-05: J.J. Francis, K&A Golden Hawks
2003-04: Brent Irwin, K&A Golden Hawks
2002-03: Mike MacIntyre, Dryden Ice Dogs
2001-02: Steve Atkins, Feathermen Hawks

Photo credit: Allison Garrigan