Lakers win streak reaches double digits




Release Date: Wednesday, Feb. 17, 2016

Lakers win streak reaches double digits    

HOYT LAKES, Minn. – The Fort Frances Lakers exploded for six second period goals in winning their 10th Superior International Junior Hockey League game in a row with a 7-1 decision over the Minnesota Iron Rangers Wednesday evening at Hoyt Lakes Arena.

A.J. Rupert opened the scoring 17:44 into the contest notching his eighth goal of the season.

Fort Frances then blew the game open in the middle stanza striking six times in a 15 and a half minute span.

Dylan Robertson started the offensive outburst at 2:01, which was followed by a Nolan Ross shorthanded effort at 7:20.

The Lakers kept coming with Andrew Willner adding to the visitors lead four minutes later while Davis Ross picked one up via the power play at 15:22, which spelled the end of Minnesota starter Anthony Pupplo’s night in favour of Ryan Carignan.

Fort Frances were quick to welcome Carignan to the contest notching goals from Jason Wilson and Nick Minerva 61 seconds apart to take a commanding 7-0 lead after two.

The Iron Rangers spoiled Brandon Bodnar’s shutout bid 5:49 into the final frame on Logan Froberg’s third overall to round out the scoring.

Robertson dished out three assists for the Lakers giving him a four-point night while Rupert had a two helpers of his own.

Bodnar finished with 32 saves in securing the win for Fort Frances.

Pupplo suffered the loss for Minnesota allowing five against on 20 attempts.

Carignan stopped 18 of 20 in relief.

The Lakers will go in search of their 11th consecutive victory Friday as they host the Thunder Bay North Stars in a 7:30 p.m. start in a contest that will be played at “The Duke” Couchiching First Nation Arena.

Meanwhile the Iron Rangers are also back at it Friday as they welcome the Dryden GM Ice Dogs to Hoyt Lakes Arena at 7 p.m.

NOTE: Saturday’s SIJHL game (Feb. 20) between Dryden and Minnesota, will now get underway one hour later than originally scheduled and will now start at 8 p.m. Central Time at Hoyt Lakes Arena.