Lakers’ Lucas repeats as SIJHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player award recipient

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Thursday that Nick Lucas of the Fort Frances Lakers has been named the recipient of the SIJHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player Award for the 2018-19 season.

The winner was determined in voting completed by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

Lucas picked up the honour over fellow nominees Jacob Siebenga of the Dryden GM Ice Dogs and Stratton Pickett of the Red Lake Miners.

In 44 games in 2018-19, the Cottage Grove, Minn., product, who is in his final year of Jr. A hockey, amassed a career single campaign-high 48 points while incurring only five minor penalties throughout the season, of which three occurred after October 1.

In 97 career SIJHL contests, Lucas has scored 35 times and assisted on 58 others for 93 points. He also has eight more points in 11 playoff outings.

It marks the fourth year in succession a Fort Frances player has garnered the accolades and second straight occasion Lucas has been recognized with the laurels.

This is also the seventh instance someone from a Fort Frances-based franchise in the 18-year history of the SIJHL has earned most sportsmanlike player honours.

While Lucas was a co-recipient last season with Alex Maticic of the Thunder Bay North Stars, Dylan Kooner claimed the honour for the Lakers in 2016-17 and Andrew Willner won the award the year previously.

You also had Jacob Nolan earning the accolades for Fort Frances back in 2012-13 as did Tyler Stevenson in 2010-11.

Meanwhile former Borderland Thunder forward A.J. Tucker was a co-recipient back in 2002-03.

The following are the SIJHL’s all-time Most Sportsmanlike Player award honourees:

2018-19: Nick Lucas, Fort Frances Lakers
2017-18: Nick Lucas, Fort Frances Lakers (Co-recipient)
2017-18: Alex Maticic, Thunder Bay North Stars (Co-recipient)
2016-17: Dylan Kooner, Fort Frances Lakers
2015-16: Andrew Willner, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Evan Erickson, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2013-14: Matthias Gardiman, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Jacob Nolan, Fort Frances Lakers
2011-12: Dane Morin, Sioux Lookout Flyers
2010-11: Tyler Stevenson, Fort Frances Lakers
2009-10: Mike Lennon, Dryden Ice Dogs
2008-09: Joel Langevin, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Michael Thibert, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2006-07: Justin Gvora, Thunder Bay Bearcats (Co-recipient)
2006-07: Josh Slobodian, Fort William North Stars (Co-recipient)
2005-06: Tyler Tesh, Dryden Ice Dogs
2004-05: Steve Atkins, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Joel Poshtar, Dryden Ice Dogs
2002-03: A.J. Tucker, Borderland Thunder (Co-recipient)
2002-03: Eric Robin, K&A Golden Hawks (Co-recipient)
2001-02: Charlie Washipabano, Featherman Hawks

Photo credit: Clint Bruyere